HISTORY OF CHILDWALL - Discover the History of Childwall through the Official website detailing its past history! See rare photographs and film from the last 100 years and discover long lost places of Childwall that are no longer with us. Take the tour of the area to review the past.
Childwall was known as Cileuuelle in the 1086 Domesday Book meaning 'a stream where youngsters meet' from the Old English words cild and wella.
"that there was one priest there, holding one carucate of land (about 50 acres)."This, however, was not for his own use but for the poor of the parish, extending to the Mersey from Garston, to past Hale. Childwall then became attached to to the Priory of Lancaster which Roger founded as the cell of the Abbey."
HISTORY OF THE ROPEWALKS - The Ropewalks of Liverpool website features not only past information on the background of the ropewalks, but also to highlight some of the historical buildings being demolished for regeneration.
The name is derived from the craft of rope-making for sailing ships that dominated the area until the 19th century. It is characterised by its long, straight streets running parallel to each other. The streets were built in this way to allow rope manufacturers to lay the ropes out lengthways during production.
There are a number of historic warehouse buildings and it owes much of its character to the rope-making industry.
SANDFIELD TOWER - Sandfield Tower is a 3 level Grade II listed building in the south of Liverpool, set back from the main road and lost in time compared to the neighbouring houses. Now derelict and fire damaged throughout most of the building, it is left to the mercy of the weather and elements from many of the open windows and part missing roof.
With properties having been identified and prioritised for action, money has been provided by the City Council and Northwest Development Agency to enable the Buildings at Risk Officer to use the statutory powers available. As a priority building, Sandfield Tower has been subject to such measures. We can only hope that this building is saved and returned to its former glory, standing at the entrance to Sandfield Park. Today, Sandfield Tower stands there unloved.
EDDESBURY - The Margaret Beavan Special School is situated on the corner of Hayman’s Green and Almonds Green. It was designed and built in 1884 by Architect James Frances Doyle. The building was designed for the Latham Family as a private villa and was once called Eddesbury.
Today, this building stands unloved and uncared for, and another Grade 2 listed building is now at the mercy of the weather and vandals who have managed to gain access to the property from time to time.
This group aims to look at the history of the building, rare images both internally and externally, discover who owned the building during its life, and why, much like Sandfield Tower, is now abandoned for it to slowly fall apart. Should this be happening to Doyle’s earlier work? We think not!